FireFox blogging tool

There’s a new ‘extension’ for FireFox called Performancing. It offers bloggers a way to easily write, edit and post to their various blogs right from within FireFox. You are supposed to be able to use it with Blogger, WordPress.com blogs, and the WP blogs you’ve installed on your own domains (just to name a few; others mentioned are live journal, and Windows Live the MSN space replacement).

I’ve tested it on one of the WP’s I installed on my server, which is updated to the latest version 2.0.4, but I get a user/password error message. After reading the Performancing.com forums, I think it might be necessary to set up the ‘blogging by email’ function within WP for this to work.

I had no problem what-so-ever setting this up to work here on WordPress.com though! With all the new functionality of the latest WP, I’m not really sure I’m going to take the time to set up my WP installed blogs to use this handy dandy editor with. Since Windows Live took over MSN spaces, I haven’t been able to log into that blog, so that’s not even an option right now.

To be honest, I’ve tweaked my own blogs so much that I probably wouldn’t use this editor much for those, being they are commercially driven. However, for my many personal blogs hosted on blogging platforms, I do really like the functionality of this handy little FireFox blog editor. Nice job.

powered by performancing firefox

2 Comments »

  1. Jed Said:

    Thanks for the plug.
    A Custom WordPress install shouldn’t need extra configuration, however some servers block the xmlrpc.php file on your host, so you need to follow these instructions to get it to work.

    If you have any problems, let me know.
    Cheers

  2. tawnygirl Said:

    Thanks for responding, Jed! I tried your suggestion and it still didn’t work, so I spent some time in the forum link that you gave me, and it wasn’t until I read Rachel’s post that I found the key to making this work with custom installs:

    Submitted by RachelShubin on August 3, 2006 – 5:31am.

    Hi guys,

    I spent the last two or three hours fighting with this same problem. I host my own WordPress blog on my server and it kept giving me a login error for the username and password. The WordPress version is 2.0.3 and was installed through Fantastico on my cPanel. I’m running FireFox 1.5.0.5.

    Here’s how I got it to work:

    1. Find the xmlrpc.php file in your blog’s root directory, download it, rename it, and copy it back to the same directory with the new name (I used apiurl.php for the new one). Then go to Performancing and click the Add button.
    2. Click Manually Configure
    3. Add Custom Blog
    4. Select WordPress
    5. For API url, use http://www.yourdomain.com/apiurl.php
    6. Enter username & password
    7. That’s it!

    Make sure you have the www. in step 5. I couldn’t get it to find the original xmlrpc file, but it worked fine with the renamed one and the www. Good luck!

    Rachel

    The magic, for me, was in renaming the xmlrpc.php file AND making sure the url reference I used in the account manager while adding my new blogs info included the “www.” that’s what made it work for me. Ok, so now I probably will use it haha!

    Thanks again for stopping by to lend a helping hand! This is why I love blogging; community. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

