Akismet first impressions

As I stated when I started this blog, I only wound up testing things here at WordPress.com because I had to sign up for an account to get a WP API so that I could use Akismet.

It was difficult to tell, at first how well this plug in worked, because I had only been using it with newly installed and developted blogs. When I recently took the plunge, and did the long overdue upgrade of my main blogs from V 1.5.2 to V 2.0.4 … this is when I truly found out how superior this comment and trackback spam tool really is.

For reasons I don’t understand, the Bad Behavior spam plugin I had been using just was not stopping the various comment spam that was hitting my blogs on a daily basis. Thanks, but I’m not an impodent, overweight middle aged man with a gambling addiction like these spammers seem to think I am by the many ‘products’ their posts were trying to sell. 🙂

When I upgraded, and activated Akismet, it found over 100 past and present spam comments on my blog, which I keep up with on a daily basis, or so I thought. Apparently, there had been spam comments breaking through for some time without my knowledge, which is disturbing considering I always set comments to be moderated!

Akismet also snagged one of my own references to another post within the blog, but that was easy enough to ‘teach’ the plugin that those are OK. Overall, I’m pretty impressed with how well this plugin is working to date. I just hope that saying so doesn’t make things mysteriously explode on me! LOL

Leave a Reply

