Archive for August 13, 2006

SEO beyond metas

I admit it openly; I haven’t been keeping up with the intricate details of today’s search engine optimization trends. Running my own network of sites, and managing the networks of my clients is a large enough task for one girl. I’ve been taking the time to once again follow trends in order to be able to more accurately predict the SE trends.

I found this article about “on page SEO” today, and felt that it helped confirm that my suspicions about recent SERPs are correct. Subtle changes such as using the plaural forms of keywords, and using dashes in URLs, as opposed to underscores are making a huge difference these days.

I know a lot of my clients are in the learning stages where SEO is concerned, so if all this information is too overwhelming, have no fear… I’m on it! 😉

Found an updated PHP in post plugin

Due to my habit of using WP for CMS, I often find in necessary to use PHP code within a post. I was having some issues with an old, no longer supported version of the plugin I used before this last upgrade, so yet again went searching.

I found a new version of the PHP in a post plugin, and it worked without any issues. The only thing you have to remember (and in most cases I’ve done this for you already when I installed your WordPress) that you must have turned off the “visual rich editor” that comes with WP now. This is found under your Users tab, at the very bottom of the page. Make sure the little box next to “Use the visual rich editor when writing” is NOT checked!